

Information Services Governance Committee

Wednesday 6th March 2019

MINUTES

Present:

Professor Michael Arthur (Provost and Chair)

Ms. Wendy Appleby

Dr Paul Ayris

Dame Nicola Brewer

Professor Stella Bruzzi

Mr Simon Cane

Dr Celia Caulcott

Professor Piet Eeckhout

Professor Becky Francis

Ms Francesca Fryer

Mr Philip Harding

Professor Graham Hart

Mrs Lori Houlihan

Ms Collette Lux

Professor Ivan Parkin

Professor Alan Penn

Professor David Price

Professor Geraint Rees

Professor Sasha Roseneil

Mr. Tom Rowson

Ms Fiona Ryland

Professor Anthony Smith

Dr Michael Cope

Dr James McCafferty

Ms.

Professor David Lomas Professor Alan Thompson Professor Nigel Titchener-Hooker The Provost opened the meeting.

The

1 19/03 Minutes of the previous meeting

1.1 The minutes of the meeting held on 14th November 2018 (paper 18/11) were approved.

- 3.3 The committee noted that research IT faces a tsunami of demand, as research spend on research IT.
- 3.4 ISGC recognised the need for better joined-up governance across the different services in this area (eg Data safe haven, GDPR, research data storage, InfoSec etc). Also, better collaboration with Computer Science would bring benefits.
- 3.5 This discussion finished with ISGC thanking Ms Gryce for her contribution, given her pending departure from UCL.

4. 19/03/03 Update

- 5.2 Restricted
- 5.5 Restricted.

7. 19/03/06 Information security update

Restricted.

8. 19/03/07 Proposal for improved support for online teaching and assessment

Not discussed due to lack of time.

AOB

There were no AOB items

Dr James McCafferty Deputy Director of ISD Information Services Division (ISD) email: <u>james.mccafferty@ucl.ac.uk</u> March 2019